IGC historical background

Mr. Nicolas Frizon de Lamotte
Founding member of IGC

The IGC was created in late summer 1985 at the initiative of Mr. Nicolas Frizon de Lamotte. Based on a survey within all international organizations in Geneva (250 positive answers), it was decided to create the International Civil Servants Golf Club during the first General Assembly which took place on Tuesday 17 September 1985 at the United Nations Office at Geneva. About one hundred persons were present. Nicolas FRIZON de LAMOTTE was elected first member of the first committee then elected unanimously first President of the IGC.

The first tournament took place in Divonne on Saturday 19 October 1985. In 1986, while there were still a limited number of golf courses in the Geneva area, there were already 450 members of the IGC. On 1 April 1987, the IGC was been affiliated to FFG.

M. MARTENSON, Director-general of UNOG as well as Mr. Robert VIEUX, former Chief of Protocol of the Republic and Canton of Geneva became honorary members of the IGC in 1988.

IGC Presidents :

1985-1989 Nicolas Frizon de Lamotte (UNOG)

1990-1991 Paul Queru (CERN)

1992-1993 Michel Couroux (UNCTAD)

1994-2002 Nicolas Frizon de Lamotte (UNOG)

2003-2006 Diego Oyarzun (UNCTAD)

2007-2012 Giuseppe Di Capua (UNCTAD)

2013-2014 Sabine Matet (WIPO)